Our History

  Our History  
Church History

Westminster Church celebrates a rich history of diversity and forward thinking. Westminster is a member of the Presbyterian Church (USA), the largest Presbyterian denomination in this country. 

The PC(USA) was formed in 1983 with the reunification of the two branches of the church that had split off after the Civil War, the Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. (Northern) and the Presbyterian Church in the U.S. (Southern).

Not long after the initial conversations about reunification began in 1948, the two churches in Corsicana began their own conversations. After study and prayer, many members of the First Presbyterian Church in the U.S., and the Third Avenue Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A., believed that they could better serve God by working together to become the body of Christ.

On April 3, 1948, the two congregations met in the sanctuary of the First Presbyterian Church and the federation was officially declared effective as of April 1, 1949. The new Westminster Presbyterian Church of Corsicana, Texas (U.S.-U.S.A.) was constituted to the greater glory of God; and, the congregation worshipped together for the first time on Palm Sunday, April 10, 1949, 34 years before the national churches federated.

The Bethel Mexican Presbyterian Church of Corsicana (Rev. E.M. Pimental, pastor) joined the Westminster family effective December 31, 1967; and the Patterson Church (U.S. with an A.R.P. background) joined the Westminster family in 1968.


Westminster Church has been served by the following installed pastors, and many well-loved interim pastors along the way:
1949-1956           Rev. Dr. Matthew H. Arnold
1956–1983          Rev. Eugene E. Wood
1962-1963           Rev. Thomas E. Dolch, Assistant Pastor
1983-1987           Rev. James A. Beverley
1989-1992           Rev. Carlton W. Utley
1994-1998           Rev. Dr. James B. Gooch
1999-2007          Rev. Dr. Robert M. Young
2009-2011          Rev. Darla J. Blatnik
2021-present      Rev. Jen Mitchell